The Whitby Residents Association has a new committee, elected at the AGM in February of this year.

It comprises Geoff Mowday, Chairman; Saar Cohen-Ronen, Secretary/treasurer, and committee members Gavin McLaughlin, Chris Darnell, Nathan Waddle, Jon Earley, Les Sweetman, and Euon Andrews. Barry Hellberg has been co-opted to join the committee also.

The committee meet on the third Thursday of each month in the North Porirua Baptist Church lounge, located at the south end of the village centre. The association currently has about 80 members, and membership is $15 per year available by online internet transfer, or cheque to the Secretary at P.O. Box 58-134, Whitby. Details are on the home page for this website.

On the ‘wish list’ for PCC village planning funding for 2018-19 are completion of new lighting on the pathway between Discovery Drive and Resolution Drive in The Banks, exercise stations around the lower lake at Whitby, a review of safer parking arrangements at Browns Bay Reserve, more information panels along the current walkway system at points of interest, and further expansion of the successful pest free Whitby campaign.

All the WRA meetings are open to the public, and there is the opportunity for members and non members to raise any topic of concern under the general business item on the agenda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *